

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES**

August 11, 2021, 10:00 A.M. OCAP Conference Room 840 Research Parkway Oklahoma City, OK 73104

**COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:** Secretary Ryan Walters, Katherine Nations, Dalton

Savage and John Daniel.

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:** Dr. Joanna Lein and Kenneth Parker

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: Dr. Ed Klein, Southwestern Oklahoma State

University, Dr. Jerry Mihelic, East Central University, and Dr. Susan Davis-Becker, ACS

Ventures

**Call to Order:** Secretary Ryan Walters called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Secretary Walters asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting. Secretary Walters introduced the newest Commissioner, Dalton Savage.

Approval of Minutes from the March 10, 2021 Commission Meeting: Secretary Walters made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 10, 2021 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: absent Mr. Parker: absent Mr. Savage: abstain Secretary Walters: approve

**Discussion and Action: Continued State Accreditation for Southwestern Oklahoma State University:** Dr. Klein and Dr. Mihelic spoke about the accreditation visit and the education program at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Mr. Daniel made a motion to continue accreditation for seven years. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:absentMr. Parker:absentMr. Savage:abstainSecretary Walters:approve

**Discussion and Action: PPAT cut scores:** Dr. Susan Davis-Becker presented the findings of a psychometric study about the Oklahoma cut scores for the PPAT (Praxis Performance Assessment for Teachers). Ms. Nations made a motion to approve a cut score of 38 for one year, and to make the cut score retroactive. Secretary Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: absent Mr. Parker: absent Mr. Savage: approve Secretary Walters: approve

**Discussion: Discussion of the Executive Director hiring process:** Secretary Walters discussed the process of interviewing candidates for the OEQA Executive Director position.

**Program Updates:** David Kurt, Director of Transfer Audits, gave updates on the progress he's made on SB 783, concerning school capacity and transfer audits. Jennifer Gambrell gave an update on the PPAT Roadshow, a tour of Oklahoma Universities with the purpose of informing Oklahoma school districts about the PPAT and how to support teachers taking the assessment. Ms. Launey-Rodolf informed the Commissioners about changes made to the Pearson website, and additional support now provided to candidates taking Oklahoma certification tests.

**Announcements and Informational Items:** None

The meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m. The minutes of the August 11, 2021 special meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)	
on October 20, 2021.	
Signed:	
Secretary Ryan Walters	Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, Director